Book Your Free Consultation Today!

Home > > Types of Visas > > Kaary (Work) Visas > > General Skilled Migration (GSM) > > 491 (Skill work provisional) Visa
Types of Visas
491 (Skill work provisional) Visa  
This is a visa for skilled individuals nominated by a state or territory government to live and work in regional Australia.

It is a provisional visa that allows skilled workers and their families to reside and work in designated regional areas of Australia for 5 years. After three years from the date of visa grant, the holders of the Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) subclass 491 visa can apply for a Permanent Residence visa.

To be eligible for this visa, applicants must be nominated by:

  • An Australian state or territory government agency, or
  • Sponsored by an eligible family member residing in a designated regional area and be invited to apply for the visa after submitting an Expression of Interest (EOI) in SkillSelect.
Step 1 Start your Process with FBP
Step 2 Lodge your Skill Assessment
Step 3 Lodge Expression of Interest through SkillSelect
Step 4
  • Apply for SN (State Nomination)
  • Lodge ROI (Registration of Interest) with the State (if applicable)
  • Receive ITA (Invitation to Apply) from the State
  • Lodge SN (State Nomination)
Step 5 Receive SN (State Nomination) & ITA (invitation to apply) for the visa
Step 6 Lodge Visa application (within 60 days of ITA)
Step 7 Receive 491 Visa Grant


  • Designed for skilled workers nominated by an Australian state or territory government.
  • Allows living and working in designated regions of Australia.
  • Unlimited travel to and from Australia during visa validity.
  • Eligible for permanent residence through the Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) visa (subclass 191) after 3 years.
  • Requires living, working, and studying in a designated regional area.
  • Opportunity to sponsor eligible relatives for permanent residence.
  • Minimum annual income ($53,900/year) required for state-sponsored streams.
  • Skills assessment, nomination by a state/territory, and meeting the pass mark (65 points as of 20 Dec 2022) of the point test are necessary.
  • Invitation-based application process after submitting Expression of Interest.
  • Age requirement: 18 to 44 years.
  • Proof of English language proficiency and compliance with health/character standards.


  • Prioritized processing of regional applications.
  • Encourages longer stay and community engagement for immigrants.
  • Additional points awarded to subclass 491 visa applicants.