Book Your Free Consultation Today!

Home > > Types of Visas > > Kaary (Work) Visas > > General Skilled Migration
Migrate with F4MG
Skilled Migration Visa

To address Australia’s skill shortfall, qualified individuals or families wishing to relocate permanently are eligible for the skilled visa. Points are awarded for independent, State/Territorial, or family-sponsored permanent visas under the General Skilled Migration programme. The list of skilled vocations that qualify for permanent residency under the General Skilled Migration programme is called the Skilled Occupation List.

189 (Skilled Independent) Visa
The Subclass 189 Visa or Skilled Independent Visa is a points-tested visa that allows workers with sought-after skills to live, work and settle in Australia permanently. This visa has three streams: the Points-Tested Stream, the New Zealand Stream, and the Hong Kong Stream. The New Zealand Stream is permanently closed to new applicants. The Subclass 189 Visa allows individuals the freedom to live, work, settle, and study in Australia permanently. Additionally, visa holders can travel to and from Australia for 5 years, sponsor relatives to come to Australia, enrol in Medicare, and apply for Australian citizenship once eligible. To be eligible for the Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189), applicants must have a profession that is on the Medium and Long-Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), have a suitable skills assessment, score 65 points or more, submit an (Expression of Interest) EOI, be invited to apply, and meet the health, skills, and character requirement.
190 (Skilled Nominated) Visa
The Subclass 190 or Skilled Nominated Visa is a points-tested visa pathway for skilled workers to become permanent residents in Australia and live, work, and study anywhere in the country. Visa holders can also sponsor their relatives for permanent residence, travel to and from Australia for 5 years, enrol in Medicare, and become Australian citizens if eligible. To be eligible for the Subclass 190 visa, applicants must have an occupation that is required for this visa, submit an (Expression of Interest) EOI in SkillSelect*, be nominated by a government agency and be invited by the Department of Home Affairs to apply. Additionally, they must also score a minimum of 65 points, and meet the health, character, age, and English language requirements.
491 (Skill Work Provisional) Visa
The Subclass 491, or Skill Work Provisional Visa, is for skilled workers who want to live and work in regional Australia. The applicant can either be nominated by an Australian state or territory government agency or sponsored by an eligible family member residing in the designated regional area. Visa holders can live, work, and study in a designated regional area of Australia for up to 5 years and apply for permanent residence if eligible after holding the Subclass 491 visa for 3 years. To be eligible to apply, applicants must meet the points requirement of 65 or more, have a suitable skills assessment, be under 45, and meet other health and character requirements.
191 (Skilled Regional PR) Visa
The Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) Visa (Subclass 191) allows workers who have lived and worked in designated regional areas of Australia on an eligible visa to live and work in Australia permanently. It consists of two streams: the Regional Provisional Stream for those who have met conditions in designated regional areas and the Hong Kong Stream for qualified Hong Kong or British National (Overseas) passport holders committed to Australia. Key features include permanent residency, access to Medicare, the ability to sponsor relatives, 5 years of travel to and from Australia, and permission to work and study. There is no minimum income requirement for this visa pathway. Eligibility requires meeting health and character requirements, having no prior visa rejections, and holding an eligible visa while complying with its conditions.
887 (Skilled Regional) Visa
The Skilled Regional Visa (Subclass 887) in Australia caters to individuals with prior residence and employment in specified regional areas on an eligible visa. The Skilled Regional Visa affords indefinite stay in Australia, allowing individuals to work and study permanently, access Medicare, sponsor relatives to join them, and travel to and from Australia for five years. To qualify, applicants must have lived for a minimum of 2 years as the holder of one or more eligible visas in a regional or low-population growth metropolitan area if nominated by a state or territory government for the previous eligible visa or a designated region of Australia if sponsored by a family member for their previous eligible visa. Additionally, a prerequisite involves full-time employment for at least 12 months in the areas mentioned. Meeting health, character, and English language requirements is also essential for visa approval.
485 (Graduate Temporary) Visa
Subclass 485 (Graduate Temporary) Visa permits international students to temporarily live, work, and study in Australia after they finish their education. Basic eligibility includes being under 50 years of age, having held a student visa in the last 6 months, having a recent qualification in a Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS)-registered course, nominating a single stream only. Once a stream is nominated one cannot change visa stream after applying. The Graduate Temporary Visa offers four streams – Graduate Work Stream, Post-Study Work Stream, Second Post-Study Work Stream, and Replacement Stream.

* SkillSelect is the Australian Government’s online system that allows skilled individuals to register their interest in applying for a visa to live and work in Australia.